top banner

A Taste of Reality

Synopsis

In her final year at high school, Rosie is thrust together with some very unlikely class mates for an unusual project. They chose to research the existence of vampires and Rosie knew just the place to do it. Armed with fake id’s the teenagers head off to a Melbourne Goth club, where they stumble upon a dark and secret world and soon discover that this new found reality has teeth and a killer bite.

Together the teenagers must learn how to evade, or survive, any contact with the vampires, a task made more difficult by the fact that their friend Vanda, a werewolf, had killed a vampire while protecting them. By this single act, Vanda unknowingly unleashed a world of vengeance and hurt down upon herself and her friends, because after witnessing the death of her blood-mate, Anika a pure-blood vampire, was thirsting for revenge. Sorin, a man who is drawn to Rosie and claims to be her eternal soul-mate, offers to help the teenagers and they soon learn that his unique experience is invaluable. Half human, half vampire and hunted by the man he knew as his father, Sorin is drawn into a life he has been avoiding for centuries, in his fight to protect Rosie and her friends.

When the capture of Vanda is ordered by Anika’s grandfather, an adventure of epic proportions unfolds. Elaborate plots to capture and then rescue Vanda are followed by counter plots from the vampires to get her back. The excitement escalates until it reaches a crescendo of action, estranged father against son, desperate humans against vengeful vampires and a werewolf protecting those who have become her pack. The battle concludes with casualties on both sides including Eli, who sacrifices himself to save Jessica, a vicious attack ending his life…or so it appeared.

Battles are fought and lives are lost, but the final explosive conflict leaves the teenagers distraught and confused. Only one thing is clear–life will never be the same–nor will death.

Click here for your copy of A Taste of Reality

Character backgrounds. Learn more about Rosie now.

Rosie Gardener

Jessica Hamilton

Cooper Miller

Eli Walters

Vanda Stone

Sorin

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars buffy meets the breakfast club August 5, 2014
By mike
Format:Kindle Edition

I want to take a moment to process what I just read before writing this review but I don’t think that I can. I am just to excited about it. First off let me say that I hope and pray that this continues or that if anything there is at least one more book with these characters because I just love them. Without giving anything away the last fifty pages were just a whirlwind of fear, relief, sadness, fear and exhaustion. How can you not connect to someone after going through that with them :)? Truth be told when I first started reading this I was not sure that I would like it. This is not to say that was bad at all because it wasn’t - everything just seemed to fall together too easily if that makes sense. I mean to start off you have these five kids who never speak to each other (and two of which do not seem to like or speak to ANYONE let only the other three) and who seem to have nothing in common and no connection and they hit it off within the first week? Add in the supernatural element and you conveniently have Breakfast Club meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer. But like Buffy and the Breakfast Club it works! And for this reader it works well! I love the connection between all of the characters and I love how quickly it forms. I love the idealism of their youth and the nonchalant way in which ginormous secrets are accepted by the other members of the group in the blink of an eye. I love the humor with which they deal with the life threatening situations - taking events but not themselves too seriously. I like that more than just vampires are touched on in this ( even if only briefly) and that we get some of the mythology of these creatures or at least some more of the legends. This is a very clever story which surprisingly makes the creatures of the night seem a little more human. Again given the ending I sincerely hope that we see more from this group and from this author. I think that this will appeal to fans of Buffy and Angel and to fans of the JL Smith’s Night World series and Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampire series.


4.0 out of 5 stars vampires, real or myth? May 31, 2014
By Gemma Farrow
Format:Kindle Edition

I love vampires but am not into the teenage/vampire trend. With that said A Taste of Reality although aimed at teenagers was a good read, better than some I've read. The writing wasn't dense and the descriptions weren't in depth to the point of slowing down the pace. I enjoyed the characters and their interactions. The author managed to capture teenage-hood without making it a characterture. Rosie and her mixed-group of friends are believable. This is a good read with an interesting set-up, disproving the existence of vampires.


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic May 19, 2014
By Jade Wright
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Fantastic book!! I was completely sucked it and I am dying for the next installment. I love that author referenced old folk lore and traditions.


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting intriguing read! 5 May 2014
By Emma Butler
Format:Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

This book is an exciting and intriguing read. I thoroughly enjoyed this from start to finish. It's one of those 'i can't put it down' books.
Can't wait for the next installment :O)


5.0 out of 5 stars You can't put it down 5 May 2014
By Julie McDonnell
Format:Kindle Edition

Loved this tension packed thriller set in Melbourne, Australia. Couldn't put it down once I started, I'm not usually a fan of the genre but will be in future. Julie

4.0 out of 5 stars Well-paced vampire book, recommended for younger readers May 12, 2014
By Simon Williams
Format:Kindle Edition

I should firstly point out that I don't read this sort of thing- not being into the whole overdone teen vampire genre- but this is decently written and well-paced and above average for the niche. Good, snappy dialogue runs through the whole book and I did feel a certain empathy for the main characters. Recommended for younger readers who are into their "vampires".


5 out of 5 stars Great story, l enjoyed it very much April 27, 2014
By jean
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed this book. The action started in chapter 2 then kept on going through the rest of the book, ending in an explosive battle. The story was easy to follow, but had a few surprises thrown in, you're going to love the ending and that alone is going to make you want to read the next book. I also loved that it was set in Melbourne, what a great place for vampires to live.

The characters really made this a great read, no superheroes, (though Jess has some serious skills) just every day teenagers forced to deal with life threatening situations. This is a great first book for a trilogy, I want to know more about the kids, and want to what happens next.


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! 22 April 2014
By Sarah Taylor
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed this - not read anything this good for a while - would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in the genre


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun story to sink your teeth into, April 7, 2014
Laurie W-J-N "Laurie W-J-N" (Phoenix, AZ United States) Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Reality (Reality Bites) (Kindle Edition)

I enjoyed this book, it had likeable characters, and will appeal to young adults. The relationship between Sorin and Rosie was not fully explained or developed until very late in the story, but the other characters felt comfortable and relatable. The book had a nice pace, although some parts were predictable, the story was engaging. The author is Australian & you will notice the differences in spelling and some of the phrases.


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read ! 25 March 2014
By Colin Fabri
Format:Kindle Edition

I have just finished 'A taste of reality' and thoroughly enjoyed it. The story line builds well as does the readers relationship with the characters, and develops into a full blown action adventure. For those that like quality, almost 'reality', vampire stories, this is for you. Can't wait to read the inevitable sequel.


5.0 out of 5 stars
Great first book 6 March 2014
By Kevin McDonnell - Published on Amazon.com

A Taste of Reality” was written by my sister and when she asked me to read and review it; I was more than a little worried. I know she is a talented writer, no question there, but the thing is–vampires are most definitely not my thing. I started to read the book not knowing what to expect, but I couldn’t put it down. The characters seem so real, the story line believable, the vampires, I’ve got to admit were pretty cool, and certainly live up to their blood thirsty reputation. There was plenty of action and I loved the ending. Bring on book two. Well done sis!


Jodie Mercel Ah my message didn't write properly. I have read it and really enjoyed it. Saw link on Emma Stanley Butler page. Loved how easy to follow story. Great explanations. Liked how you wrote from angle of vanda and not vamp opinion. Can't wait for next one to be released. X


5 out of 5 stars She loved it 26 January 2014
By Lisa Adam - Published on Amazon.com
Amazon Verified Purchase

I relinquished my Kindle for a couple of days so that my friend's daughter could read this. She loved it and is waiting for book two.


 

 

Back to top

 

                         blogspot logo